Nov 162015
 

pronunciator-resizable-180x135

Meet Pronunciator, Warren Public Library’s new online language-learning database. Pronunciator offers instruction for 80 languages that can be taken from any of  50 starting languages! This means that a French speaker can learn Korean, a Hindi speaker can learn Ukrainian, a Haitian Creole speaker can learn Afrikaans (among countless other possibilities). ESL courses are included for the 50 non-English languages.

Pronunciator quickly builds conversational skills through interactive online drills, scored quizzes, culture and business notes, and grammar reviews. Each language course has a minimum of 1,500 phrases to learn, and most have 10,000 phrases. Learners can move through the courses based on their skill level and learning goals. Lessons include:

  • Scored quizzes
  • Virtual coach
  • Speech recognition
  • Downloadable audio lessons
  • Virtual conversations
  • Downloadable phrasebooks in PDF form

Pronunciator includes lessons for children ages three to six and seven through 12, as well as eight week travel prep courses, which are specially designed to prepare you for your next trip.

If you’re on the go, Pronunciator’s free mobile app for iPhone, iPad, Android, and tablets allows you to take your lessons wherever you go. Your progress is automatically synced between devices, so you can go from your computer to your phone or tablet without missing a beat! Apps can be found in your devices app store.

Click here to try Pronunciator today!

Sep 232015
 

Thursday, October 8, 6 pm, Civic Center Library HeritageQuest

Celebrate Family History Month by learning to explore your roots using the new and improved Heritage Quest website now owned by Ancestry.com.  Available for use in the library or home through the Michigan eLibrary (mel.org), search the complete U.S. Federal census (1790-1940) and send your discoveries home via email. Also covered will be tips and tricks for beginners, the Ancestry Library Edition database, and valuable free websites that will jump start your search into your family’s past.

This program will be held in the conference room next to the Civic Center Library. Registration is required for this event. Please call 586.574.4564 to register.

Sep 252015
 

MeLLogoDatabases that the Warren Public Library receives through the Michigan eLibrary (MeL) will be soon be changing.

On October 1, the following databases will not be available and will be removed from our database listings:

  • Books and Authors
  • Lansing State Journal
  • SIRS Discoverer and SIRS Renaissance
  • eLibrary and eLibrary Elementary
  • Job and Career Accelerator
  • 2 centers from Learning Express Library: Computer Skills Center  Skills for 21st Century Success

Also starting October 1, the following databases will be added:

  • Research in Context
  • Military and Intelligence
  • Britannica School, Britannica School – Learning Zone, Britannica School – Elementary, Britannica School – Middle, Britannica School – High

Feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions about any of the databases that we offer.

Dec 022014
 

marketing~~element54We are very happy to announce that Freegal has been added to our electronic resource offerings. With Freegal, you can stream music, as well as download up to 5 songs a week. The downloaded songs are in the MP3 format, and are not checked out: they are yours to keep! Freegal offers over 7 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of artists. There is no software to download, and downloaded songs are DRM (digital rights management) free. All you need is your Warren Public Library card!

Go to this website to get started using Freegal! For detailed instructions on how to use Freegal, click here.

Nov 092013
 

MeLLogoWednesday, December 4, 6 pm, Civic Center Library

Are you looking into starting a business? Do you need to find information to help your current business? If so, please consider attending the Resources for Small Business from the Michigan eLibrary seminar. The Michigan eLibrary (or MeL for short) offers a variety of electronic resources to help you and your small business. Dinah Ramirez of Gale-Cengage will show you how resources like Small Business Resource Center and Demographics Now, available through MeL and our database page,  can help take your business to the next level.

This program will be held in the conference room next to the Civic Center Library. Registration is required for this program. To register, please call 586.574.4564.

Jan 282013
 

Car RepairDo you have car problems, and want to fix it yourself but don’t know where to start? If so, considering using ALLDATA, a comprehensive car repair database now available from the Library.

ALLDATA features in-depth repair information for a variety of vehicles, from 1982 – present. It includes diagrams, diagnostic trouble code charts, technical service bulletins, and maintenance information. ALLDATA makes it is easy to search for and print information to help you in repairing your vehicle.

ALLDATA is available at all Warren Public Library locations and can only be accessed from within the library. You can access ALLDATA by clicking here. It is also available through our database listings.